SPORTS | STATS


MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#11
Clay Buchholz
ERA W-L K
5.29 8-9 122
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 190 NFBC ADP: 191.35
Position: SPBorn: 8/14/1984 Birthplace: Nederland, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Red Sox (2005)


Latest News
Aug. 4 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Buchholz's woeful season continued with another bad performance in Sunday's 8-7 loss to the Yankees, though he wasn't tagged with the defeat. Buchholz gave up seven runs in five innings for the second straight outing.
Analysis: Buchholz has been especially bad over his last four starts, posting a drab 9.00 ERA in that span.
July 29 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Buchholz was abysmal Monday.
Analysis: Buchholz was tagged for a season-high seven runs in five-plus innings. He draws the Yanks next on Sunday night baseball in a major showdown.
July 24 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Buchholz lost for the first time in three starts, allowing five runs, four earned, and six hits in six innings. He walked four and struck out one Wednesday.
Analysis: Buchholz stayed in the game after Munenori Kawasaki's comebacker hit him on the right temple in the first inning. "It dazed me for sure," Buchholz said. "I feel fine." He faces the Jays again next week.
July 14 11:34 AM PT12:34 PM MT1:34 PM CT2:34 PM ET14:34 ET18:34 GMT2:34 11:34 AM MST1:34 PM EST2:04 PM VEN22:34 UAE1:34 PM CT-Buchholz allowed three hits and struck out a career-high 12 in his fifth career shutout in Boston's 11-0 win over Houston on Sunday.
Analysis: Buchholz went to high school 90 minutes from Houston in Lumberton, Texas. He didn't walk a batter in his first shutout since June 2, 2013, against the Yankees. "I definitely had a lot of people out here to watch the game, so that makes it even better," Buchholz said. "Obviously, a win to end the first half is a good thing, too."
July 8 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Buchholz dropped to 3-5 on Monday as the BoSox lost 4-0 to the ChiSox.
Analysis: Buchholz allowed four runs on five hits and a walk, and struck out seven in seven innings. "I'm done talking about the offense," Buchholz said. "It's not like they're out there not trying or anything. It's just not working right now. I'm not going to answer any more questions about our offense."
June 26 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Buchholz won in his return Wednesday after being sidelined a month with a knee injury.
Analysis: Buchholz won despite allowing three home runs so fantasy owners should hold their horses.
May 27 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Buchholz will make his return to the Boston Red Sox rotation in Wednesday's series finale against Seattle.
Analysis: Buchholz has not pitched since hyperextending his left knee in late May. Buchholz is 2-4 with a 7.02 ERA in 10 starts. The Red Sox will make a corresponding roster move to activate Buchholz on Wednesday.
May 3 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Buchholz recorded his second win Friday.
Analysis: Buchholz pitched 6 1-3 innings, allowing one run on three hits and striking out five.
Apr. 27 11:38 AM PT12:38 PM MT1:38 PM CT2:38 PM ET14:38 ET18:38 GMT2:38 11:38 AM MST1:38 PM EST2:08 PM VEN22:38 UAE1:38 PM CT-Buchholz earned his first win Saturday.
Analysis: Buchholz, who walked three and struck out three and allowed three runs in seven innings, is 8-2 with a 1.72 ERA in 11 career starts at Toronto. He faces the A's next.
Apr. 22 8:05 AM PT9:05 AM MT10:05 AM CT11:05 AM ET11:05 ET15:05 GMT23:05 8:05 AM MST10:05 AM EST10:35 AM VEN19:05 UAE10:05 AM CT-Buchholz was awful Monday.
Analysis: On a day when the city celebrated being 'Boston Strong,' Buchholz was anything but as he was tagged for six runs in 2 1-3 innings. He'll try to do better next against the Jays.
Apr. 17 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Buchholz was solid Wednesday.
Analysis: Buchholz allowed three runs in six innings and is scheduled to get the ball Monday morning against the O's on a day when an emotional Boston Marathon will take place.
Apr. 11 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Buchholz suffered Thursday's 4-1 loss to the Yanks.
Analysis: Buchholz pitched six innings and gave up four runs - two earned. He fanned six and faces the White Sox next.
Apr. 6 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Buchholz struggled in his season debut Saturday against Milwaukee but avoided his second loss in two campaigns.
Analysis: The Boston right-hander was tagged for six runs and a career-high 13 hits in 4 1-3 innings. A Red Sox rally rescued Buchholz, who was 12-1 with a 1.74 ERA in an injury-plagued 2013 season, from matching his loss total from all of last year.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 Bos 3 1 0 - 0 4 3 1 22.2 14 6 4 0 10 0 22 1.06 1.59
2008 Bos 2 9 0 - 0 16 15 1 76.0 93 63 57 11 41 1 72 1.76 6.75
2009 Bos 7 4 0 - 0 16 16 0 92.0 91 44 43 13 36 1 68 1.38 4.21
2010 Bos 17 7 0 - 0 28 28 1 173.2 142 55 45 9 67 1 120 1.20 2.33
2011 Bos 6 3 0 - 0 14 14 0 82.2 76 34 32 10 31 1 60 1.29 3.48
2012 Bos 11 8 0 - 0 29 29 2 189.1 187 104 96 25 64 2 129 1.33 4.56
2013 Bos 12 1 0 - 0 16 16 1 108.1 75 23 21 4 36 0 96 1.02 1.74
2014 Bos 8 9 0 - 0 26 26 2 156.2 169 99 92 17 52 2 122 1.41 5.29
Career 66 42 0 - 0 149 147 8 901.1 847 428 390 89 337 8 689 1.31 3.89

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bos 28 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2012 Bos 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bos 26 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 150 5 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .400 .400 .400

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2009 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 2 2 1 1 0 3 3.60
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 2 2 1 1 0 3 3.60
2013 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.2 22 11 10 3 8 1 17 4.35
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 5 4.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.2 12 7 7 2 2 0 10 5.91
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 3 1 0 0 3 1 2 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 5 5 0 25.2 28 13 12 4 9 1 20 4.21

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Bos Total 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1140 95 87 91.6 44.83
Curveball 403 81 73 77.5 15.85
Changeup 289 87 77 81.7 11.36
Split-Finger 73 88 81 85.6 2.87
Cut Fastball 638 92 84 87.8 25.09

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.