SPORTS | STATS


MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#31
Jon Lester
ERA W-L K
2.45 15-10 206
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-4 / 240 NFBC ADP: 163.20
Position: SPBorn: 1/7/1984 Birthplace: Tacoma, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Red Sox (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 3 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Making his A's debut, Lester allowed three runs over 6 2-3 innings to beat Kansas City 8-3 on Saturday.
Analysis: Lester wasn't at his best but benefited from a five-run eighth inning. He'll get the lowly Minnesota Twins next.
July 31 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET15:09 GMT23:09 8:09 AM MST10:09 AM EST10:39 AM VEN19:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-The Oakland Athletics won the Jon Lester sweepstakes, acquiring the left-hander and outfielder Jonny Gomes from the Boston Red Sox for slugging outfielder Yoenis Cespedes before Thursday's trade deadline.
Analysis: Lester was sought by many teams, including Pittsburgh and the Los Angeles Dodgers, when A's general manager Billy Beane pulled off another blockbuster trade. Lester is 10-7 with a 2.52 ERA in 21 starts.
July 26 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Lester came away without a decision despite a decent showing in Friday's 6-4 loss at Tampa Bay, allowing two runs and six hits over six innings.
Analysis: Lester continues to be impressive, going 4-0 over his last eight starts with a 1.07 ERA.
July 21 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Lester threw eight innings of four-hit ball to beat Kansas City 6-0 on Sunday.
Analysis: Lester, who fanned eight, is 4-0 with a 0.85 ERA in his last seven starts.
July 11 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Lester struck out 12 in seven innings Thursday but did not get a decision against the Chicago White Sox.
Analysis: Lester (9-7, 2.65 ERA) allowed one run and seven hits, but fellow All-Star Koji Uehara gave up a tying homer in the ninth to pinch-hitter Conor Gillaspie. Lester has won three consecutive decisions and five of his last six. He has a 1.01 ERA in his last six starts.
July 6 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Lester was solid again Saturday against Baltimore, yielding two unearned runs and five hits over eight innings, though he didn't factor into the decision in the 3-2 victory.
Analysis: Lester is 3-0 over his last five starts with a 0.96 ERA.
June 29 10:40 AM PT11:40 AM MT12:40 PM CT1:40 PM ET13:40 ET17:40 GMT1:40 10:40 AM MST12:40 PM EST1:10 PM VEN21:40 UAE12:40 PM CT-Lester outdueled fantasy stud Masahiro Tanaka in Saturday's 2-1 win over the Yanks.
Analysis: Lester held the Yankees hitless until the sixth. He gave up an unearned run and five hits in eight innings, striking out six and walking two. He faces the O's next.
June 23 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Lester limited the A's to two earned runs and four hits over 7 2-3 innings in Sunday's 7-6 victory, though he didn't receive a decision.
Analysis: Lester is 2-0 with a 1.66 ERA over his last three games.
June 2 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Lester allowed four hits while striking out 12 in seven innings of Sunday's 4-0 win over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: His 95 strikeouts are tried with Corey Kluber for the league lead.
May 11 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Lester improved to 4-4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Lester limited Texas to three runs and four hits over seven innings. The lefty, coming off a career-high 15 strikeouts in a week earlier against Oakland, struck out eight more to match Detroit's Max Scherzer at 66 for the American League lead.
May 4 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE2:11 PM CT-Lester struck out a career-high 15, allowing one hit over eight scoreless innings and pitching the Boston Red Sox over the Oakland Athletics 6-3 on Saturday.
Analysis: Lester didn't feel very good warming up before the game but he faced 26 batters and just nine hit the ball in fair territory. Lester rebounded from taking the loss in his previous two games by striking out nine of his first 13 batters. His previous strikeout best was 13 on July 24, 2010, in a 5-1 loss at Seattle.
Apr. 28 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Lester suffered his second consecutive loss Sunday against Toronto.
Analysis: Lester threw seven innings but allowed four runs and five hits. Batters are hitting .268 off Lester this season.
Apr. 23 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Lester suffered his third loss of the season Tuesday against the Yankees.
Analysis: Lester surrendered eight runs - though just three were earned - and 11 hits in just 4 2-3 innings of work. He issued four walks and owns a 2.67 ERA through five starts.
Apr. 18 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Lester pitched eight sharp innings and led the Red Sox to a 3-1 victory over the Chicago White Sox on Thursday night.
Analysis: Lester (2-2, 2.17 ERA) allowed one run and seven hits for his second straight win after opening the season with two losses. The left-hander struck out nine and walked none, winning an impressive pitcher's duel with White Sox ace Chris Sale. Lester retired his first 16 batters before Tyler Flowers singled in the sixth.
Apr. 12 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Lester recorded his first win Friday, limiting the Yankees to two runs and six hits over 6 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Lester is 1-2 with a 2.57 ERA through three outings this season.
Apr. 7 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Lester fell to 0-2 after allowing four runs - only two earned - and seven hits over 7 1/3 innings of Sunday's loss to Milwaukee.
Analysis: With a total of one run of support to back up his 2.51 ERA through two starts, Lester has had some tough luck thus far.
Mar. 27 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Lester has been picked to start on opening day for the Boston Red Sox. Boston manager John Farrell announced Thursday that Lester will pitch Monday in Baltimore against the Orioles. The news came as no surprise, but Farrell had waited to make an announcement.
Analysis: It will be Lester's fourth consecutive opening day start, the fifth-longest streak in team history behind Pedro Martinez (seven), Roger Clemens (seven), Dennis Eckersley (five) and Cy Young (five). Lester went 15-8 with a 3.75 ERA in 33 starts and 213 1-3 innings last year, helping the Red Sox to their third World Series championship in 10 years. The 30-year-old left-hander is 100-56 with a 3.76 ERA in eight seasons with Boston.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 Bos 7 2 0 - 0 15 15 0 81.1 91 43 43 7 43 1 60 1.65 4.76
2007 Bos 4 0 0 - 0 12 11 0 63.0 61 33 32 10 31 0 50 1.46 4.57
2008 Bos 16 6 0 - 0 33 33 2 210.1 202 78 75 14 66 1 152 1.27 3.21
2009 Bos 15 8 0 - 0 32 32 2 203.1 186 80 77 20 64 0 225 1.23 3.41
2010 Bos 19 9 0 - 0 32 32 2 208.0 167 81 75 14 83 0 225 1.20 3.25
2011 Bos 15 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 191.2 166 77 74 20 75 0 182 1.26 3.47
2012 Bos 9 14 0 - 0 33 33 3 205.1 216 117 110 25 68 2 166 1.38 4.82
2013 Bos 15 8 0 - 0 33 33 1 213.1 209 94 89 19 67 0 177 1.29 3.75
2014 Bos 10 7 0 - 0 21 21 0 143.0 128 52 40 9 32 0 149 1.12 2.52
2014 Oak 5 3 0 - 0 9 9 1 62.2 53 18 16 6 14 0 57 1.07 2.30
2014 Tot 15 10 0 - 0 30 30 1 205.2 181 70 56 15 46 0 206 1.10 2.45
Career 115 66 0 - 0 251 250 11 1582.0 1479 673 631 144 543 4 1443 1.28 3.59

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Bos 15 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Bos 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Bos 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Bos 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2011 Bos 31 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Bos 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bos 33 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bos 21 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Oak 9 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tot 30 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 251 36 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 22 0 0 .000 .026 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2007 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 9.1 6 2 2 1 4 0 8 1.93
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.2 3 2 2 1 1 0 5 4.91
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 0 0 0 3 0 3 0.00
2008 Bos Total 1 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 26.2 24 9 7 3 5 0 26 2.36
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.0 10 1 0 0 3 0 11 0.00
    LCS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 14 8 7 3 2 0 15 4.97
2009 Bos Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 3 3 1 4 0 5 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 3 3 1 4 0 5 4.50
2013 Bos Total 4 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 34.2 25 6 6 3 8 0 29 1.56
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.2 3 2 2 2 3 0 7 2.35
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.2 13 3 3 0 4 0 7 2.31
    WS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 15.1 9 1 1 1 1 0 15 0.59
Career 6 4 0 - 0 13 11 0 76.2 59 20 18 8 21 0 68 2.11

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Bos Total 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bos Total 5 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 13 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1770 96 87 91.8 50.43
Curveball 555 80 69 75.1 15.81
Changeup 97 88 82 85 2.76
Cut Fastball 1088 93 83 87.8 31

126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.